United Way Extends Deadline for IPS Life-Changing Educator Awards

Three teachers and one principal from Indianapolis Public School system will each be presented with a $25,000 prize in the spring; nominations due February 3

INDIANAPOLIS – United Way of Central Indiana has extended the submission deadline for the Hubbard Life-Changing Educator Awards to Friday, Feb. 3, 2017. Any teacher or principal from the Indianapolis Public School (IPS) system is eligible to win. Three teachers and one principal will be awarded $25,000 each, and up to six finalists will be awarded $1,000 each at a special ceremony in the spring.

The Hubbard Life-Changing Educator Award celebrates exceptional IPS school leaders who have a passion for improving students’ lives – inside and outside the classroom. Since its inception in 2014, the program has awarded $25,000 each to: Tina Ahlgren, Julie Bakehorn, Daphne Draa, Cynthia Hartshorn, Margi Higgs, Ann Mennonno, Rhonda Pierre, Donna Pope-Green, Antonia Powell, Marleen Signer, Roslyn Stradford, Stella Vandivier, Deb Wolinsky and Doris Young.

According to Julie Bakehorn, who received the top prize in 2016, the experience was “unforgettable.”

“I attended the Hubbard Award ceremony with my family, including my 11-year-old grandson,” said Ms. Bakehorn, principal at Arsenal Tech High School. “I felt his hand squeeze mine when he heard my name called, and he looked at me with such excitement, respect and love. That meant more to me than anything.”

She continued, “I got into teaching and school administration because I like to work with kids. I have spent my career fighting for the ‘underdog’ and getting students what they deserve when they don’t know what to fight for.”

The Hubbard Life-Changing Educator Award is named after philanthropists Al and Kathy Hubbard.

Submit an nomination!